Erin Clarke

Long, Slow Juggling Act

Posted on: 5 November, 2011

Nothing more exciting than the film work I did in Costa Rica has happened since I last posted, though I did do post-production preparations (video transfer, audio syncing, and data consolidation) over the following few months.

Since then I
– have been working The Day Job™
– visited my family in Hawai’i last March, accompanied by a good friend
– brought home two new feline friends, Murphy in March, and Mickey in September
– participated in the 2011 World-Changing Writing Workshop
– have been learning to play ice hockey with my sister
– sent my car to the scrap yard
– have applied for various jobs
– halted my caffeine intake (none since 22 September) and re-established more healthful eating habits
– continue to struggle with my creative work, whether making time for it, wrestling with some aspect of the work itself, or finding ways to fund its development and production

It is every independent artist’s juggling act, at least in the early years of establishing oneself, to single-handedly manage the time and finances required not only to produce good work, but to send it out into the world, while also keeping oneself housed, clothed and fed. In this blogging gap I have also been doing core reflective work, identifying my values and articulating a mission statement for myself and my art, which is necessary to guide the decisions I make.

Toward the end of summer, I entered into a mutually supportive arrangement with a good friend (the same good friend who came to Hawai’i) in which we have weekly check-ins (on the phone at first, now by video chat) to discuss our goals, plans and related progress or challenges. I’m enormously grateful for this process because, as I have come to understand more deeply through it, I am easily distracted from my truer path in certain consistent ways, which has made my independent artist juggling act that much harder to perform. Having a friendly accountability partner helps me re-focus before I get too far off track, and choose more consciously which items to keep in motion and what to let go.

Leave a Reply

From Twitter, Erin Clarke

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Erin's Photos

Previous Posts

del.icio.us

